Tuesday, September 11, 2007

post-irony or irony v.2.0?

The ironist is ironical, not because he does not care, but because he cares too much.
--Randolph Bourne

Here is one dictionary definition of irony: "Incongruity between actual result of a sequence of events and the normal or expected result." That kind of irony might note that America, for all its effort to shine a beacon of freedom throughout the world, is seen as an imperial oppressor by large swaths of the Islamic world. That kind of irony would wonder if in this new battle on behalf of freedom, we may rush to strip away civil liberties. That kind of irony would wonder whether this new kind of war, waged to make us safe from terrorist attacks, might plunge the world into a far more dangerous conflagration.

written on september 25th of 2001 by david beers

Monday, September 10, 2007

petraeus


i'm sure that i'm not the only one who noticed that Petraeus rhymes with betray us. what an unfortunate name, like an adult version of Nerdlinger or something. the gradeschool jibe is way too obvious.

apparently the united states senate has nothing better to do than
"condemn" some stupid newspaper ad. news to senate: you're just giving them free advertising. free speech is all well and good when it protects campaign donations, but when it comes to expressing the very real feeling that everything the current administration says is a lie, that's going too far?
it's like when politicians say that we should allow the market to correct itself you know it's correcting itself right into their pockets. they'll only say that we should allow it to correct itself when it seems to be correcting in a way that benefits them. if it's not correcting correctly, all bets are off - it's time to pass a law.

by the way, this still drives me crazy. of all the things he's done, this is the one thing that i can never forgive.

Sunday, September 9, 2007

TeleVision

CW - BEAUTY & THE GEEK 8-9PM
it's funny how the dumb blondes make fun of the geeks, but the geeks rarely retaliate. this show needs meaner geeks.

CBS - SHARK 10-11PM

raines gets cancelled and this crap is still on?
woods vs. goldblum? the choice should be obvious.

FOX - THE SIMPSONS 8-8:30PM
this show is still on.

FOX - KING OF THE HILL 8:30-9PM

bring back bevis & butthead so we don't have to sit through this...

FOX - FAMILY GUY 9-10PM

...to get to this.

NBC - CHUCK 8-9PM

i'm curious about this one. it's about a nerd spy who decides to glom onto the nerd-renaissance of...

NBC - HEROES 9-10PM

as if we needed more, now with KRISTEN BELL as Lightning Lass!

NBC - JOURNEYMAN 10-11PM

a time-travelling show with Lucius Vorenus. if they're smart, they'll add Pullo as his sidekick.

CBS - THE UNIT 9-10PM
picked up for another season. hey mamet!

CW - REAPER 9-10PM
someone gave Kevin Smith his own show? god save us all.

NBC - BIONIC WOMAN 9-10PM
ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch!

*** they're not really bionics if they don't make that cool sound.

CBS - MOONLIGHT 9-10PM
a new vampire show with a former veronica mars cast member.
buffy and veronica will eventually converge.
*** this show is super-boring, but the lead has somehow found a way to be even more wooden than angel, so that's impressive.

SHOWTIME - DEXTER 9-10PM
read the book. love the show.
*** get the first season on DVD.

ABC - PUSHING DAISIES 10-11PM
just freaking watch this show. i mean you, nielsen families!
*** picked up for a full season!

NBC - 30 ROCK 8-8:30PM

two shows enter, one show leaves, studio 60 isn't moving.

NBC - FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS 9-10PM
it's back. it's on friday night. uh-oh.

Thursday, September 6, 2007

iPhone price drop

boo hoo hoo
early adopters getting gouged.

newsflash:
EARLY ADOPTERS ALWAYS GET GOUGED.

that extra $200 you paid was a fee for lording it over the iPhoneless for the last 2 months,
you pompous ass.


HD radios are selling for $200 right now;
wait a couple months and you'll see that price start to drop right off.

you can wait or you can pay extra.

it's like when CD players first came out they cost $200.
now they cost $20 and don't weigh a ton.

think of it this way, no matter what kind of crap apple pulls, it's just a drop in the bucket compared to all the stuff microsoft has pulled and is still pulling on a daily basis.

IT'S HOW THE GAME IS PLAYED.

apparently.

---

now steve jobs has apologized for lowering the price of the iPhone.

apologized for LOWERING the price.

this is insane.

the pop cult

Q: If this is a pop culture blog, shouldn't there be something on Owen Wilson?

A: Other than the fact that it's sad... I didn't have anything else I wanted to say.

Q: But you never talk about anything in pop culture. Paris, Britney, and such are pop culture, whether you're interested in them or not. Your blog is more like leisure time activities, which is fine, but don't call it pop culture.P.S. I'm a different anonymous than the original post.

A: You are right. I have no interest in Paris or Britney.

G-RANT said...this IS pop culture, just not mainstream pop culture. if you want that kind of crap there's tons of it over at people.com and elsewhere.

if i cared about that stuff i'd read those blogs, not this one.come on, the state, for example, IS pop culture, sadly overlooked pop culture.

Anonymous said...Wouldn't the phrase "pop culture" refer to popular culture? So if it is overlooked then it's not popular?

G-RANT said...so the question becomes how popular and with which demographic group. "the state", for example, is very popular with those that watched it back when it was on and "got it." it spawned a sort of pop-cult.

most of these pop-cult people try to avoid the hilton/lohan/spears machine that seems to dominate mainstream pop-culture journalism or they embrace it with a strong sense of irony.

a certain amount of obscurity is necessary for those of us that are more interested in pop-culture arcana than popular pop-culture. it has something to do with nerdiness as well because i love "heroes" and "LOST" despite their popularity in more mainstream circles.

i think that i define pop-culture quite broadly as anything that has ever been on television, in a movie, on the radio, or in a comic book even if very few people have heard of it. for example: manimal. how many people remember that fine, but short-lived show? it's still part of pop-culture, isn't it?

come to think of it, isn't pop-culture just everything that isn't high culture eg. opera, Literature, or all the stuff that they used to put in museums? you know, stuffy, snooty, elitst culture.

if an album of pop music is released and it isn't popular, does it cease to be pop music?

personally, i don't think that there is a line between different kinds of culture anymore. there are only genres.

but i might be wrong.

Anonymous said...That wouldn't really be pop culture just because it is in the media, would it? The definition of pop culture...the culture of the masses, including popular music, television shows, commercials, brand names, advertisements, sports, the Internet, movies, fashion, etc.So if the masses don't like it, wouldn't it be unpopular culture? Shouldn't this blog be called "What Brian likes" since there is already a movie, television and music blog? Not that there is anything wrong with that, but not really pop culture.

G-RANT said...L. popularis "belonging to the people," from populus "people."

so it seems to come down to how we define "popular" and "a population." does "popular" in this case mean "mainstream" or does it mean "populist?" defined as widely as i define it, pop culture is huge and practically all-encompassing these days because most culture is no longer aimed at a privileged elite, but at all people (or at least a certain large demographic).

my question: what culture ISN'T pop culture? where does it end?

i know this is diverging from the original question of "how can b.b. not mention Owen Wilson, Paris, & Britney in a pop culture blog?" but i find this discussion quite interesting because i, for one, would stop reading this blog if it started to dwell too much on the celebrity gossip side of things.

in my opinion, it doesn't matter "if the masses don't like it," it's still pop culture because of where it's aimed and how it's delivered. for example: even universally reviled films are part of pop culture. sometimes it's how bad they are that makes them popular.

Anonymous said...I blame Jack Black.

Aaron said...Jack Black isn't popular in any culture. He should never be mentioned on this site.By the way, let's talk pop fashion. What colors are "in" this year?

G-RANT said...oh, i don't know, maybe some kind of backlash against the pornslut-fashion that has become increasingly played out over the last couple years. i mean where can it go from here short of total nudity? maybe just an embroidered belt like that one amazon tribe. or body paints. or clothing with stategically placed holes.

as for colors, how about scottish tartans?